ANU pumped hydro researchers take out Eureka Prize

Australian National University researchers who have helped to scope out Australia’s pumped hydro opportunities have been awarded a leading science award – the Eureka Prize.


Led by Professor Andrew Blakers, Dr Matthew Stocks and Bin Lu from ANU’s Research School of Engineering, the team found 22,000 potential sites for cost effective pumped hydro across Australia.

The ARENA-supported project demonstrated that Australia could transition to a secure and cheap electricity grid powered by 100 per cent renewable energy.

The full report is available here.