Skip to Content
  • Category


  • Date

    28 August 2013

  • Classification


The Minister for Resources and Energy, Martin Ferguson AM MP, is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr Greg Bourne as acting chair of the Australian Renewable Energy Agency board.

ARENA commences on 1 July 2012 as a key component of the Australian Government’s Clean Energy Future package, consolidating $3.2 billion in funding for renewable energy innovation.

Minister Ferguson has also appointed Dr Brian Spalding to the ARENA board, in addition to the ex-officio appointment of Mr Drew Clarke, Secretary of the Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism (RET).

“ARENA’s independent board will have a mix of skills in renewable energy technology, business investment, commercialisation and corporate governance,” Minister Ferguson said.

“Mr Bourne and Dr Spalding’s experience and drive will ensure ARENA gets off to a good start and maintains momentum in Australia’s renewable energy sector.

“The board will play a pivotal role in unlocking the potential of innovative Australian renewable energy technology.”

Mr Bourne brings to the board an extensive background in renewable energy development and project commercialisation, including as a former director of Carnegie Wave Energy and chief executive officer of the World Wildlife Fund Australia from 2004 to 2010.

Dr Spalding is a current Australian Energy Market Commissioner with more than 30 years’ experience in power system operations, as well as providing continuity from the Australian Centre for Renewable Energy board.

Minister Ferguson is currently considering the four remaining ARENA board appointments and will make further announcements in due course.

Last updated 12 August 2019
Last updated
12 August 2019
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Back to top