Skip to Content
Project overview
  • Lead Organisation

    Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation

    Location

    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory

    ARENA Program

    Emerging Renewables Program

  • Start Date

    December 2015

    Status

    Current

  • Project Partners
    University of the Sunshine Coast, Sustainability Victoria, Renewables SA, Queensland University of Technology, Department of State Growth, Department of Science, Information Technology and Innovation, Department of Primary Industries, Department of Agriculture and Food (WA)

Summary

Previous biomass resource mapping has either been undertaken at a regionally specific scale or is incomplete. The lack of reliable information on biomass feedstocks is a significant roadblock to the development of bioenergy projects across Australia.

Project innovation

Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation (RIRDC) will develop the first central and national source of biomass resources and include interactive tools to enable better access to information. The project outputs will include a detailed analysis of the types, volumes and locations of potential bioenergy feedstocks in each state.

RIRDC will work with states and territories to collect, collate and present information through the ARENA-supported Australian Renewable Energy Mapping Infrastructure (AREMI) interface, a central source for renewable energy mapping data and information.

Benefit

The project will enable better links between biomass suppliers and end users, supporting local businesses to get more value from organic material destined for landfill, disposal or other low value uses by improving information access and quality.

The AREMI platform will enable RIRDC to geospatially map existing and projected biomass resource data alongside other parameters such as existing network and transport infrastructure, land use capability and demographic data.

Contact information

Program Manager, RIRDC Julie Bird
Phone: 0407 455 580
julie.bird8@bigpond.com
Department of Agriculture and Food, Western Australia Kim Brooksbank
kim.brooksbank@agric.wa.gov.au
Sustainability Victoria Kelly Wickham
Kelly.Wickham@sustainability.vic.gov.au
NSW Department of Primary Industries – Forest Science – Land and Natural Resources Fabiano Ximenes
fabiano.ximenes@dpi.nsw.gov.au
RenewablesSA, Department of State Development Catherine Way
Catherine.Way@sa.gov.au
Queensland Department of Science, Information Technology and Innovation Phil Norman
phil.norman@dsiti.qld.gov.au
Tasmanian Department of State Growth – Industry and Business Development David Hurburgh
David.Hurburgh@stategrowth.tas.gov.au
Last updated 21 June 2019
Last updated
21 June 2019
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Back to top